Scott’s Seafood [Restaurant Review]

I made a reservation with my event coordinator Vickie around Wednesday. Unfortunately I was unable to meet with her, as she was already gone for the day. No matter, we were still allowed to peruse the venue with the managers, at least under the presumption of what Vickie told me.

The reservation was for 6:30 pm on Thursday, and traffic was not polite to us. We arrived around 7:00 pm. We entered in and were greeted, I said my name and we were ushered to our table. It was a nice restaurant. A pianist was playing the piano in the bar/lounge area and made for a classy ambience. We were seated on-looking the pier and outside water. We were greeted by our server, Jesus, and he asked for our drinks. We just wanted water and he left us to decide on our dinner choices. We chose the following:

  • DUNGENESS CRAB ENCRUSTED SWORDFISH
    (Lemon Butter Sauce, Garlic Mashed Potatoes)
    [Willis]  
  • DUNGENESS CRAB & SEAFOOD CIOPPINO
    (Shellfish & Fresh Fish simmered in a Hearty Marinara Sauce with a Garlic Crouton) [Flo]
  • SEAFOOD SAUTÉ
    (Pacific Prawns, Scallops & Dungeness Crab Legs with White Wine, Garlic, Shallots, Lemon & Sweet Butter)
    [Diana]


We received half a loaf of bread; I presumed it was sourdough, and butter. Dinner took a bit maybe 15 – 20 minutes. We got our food, took the necessary pictures and dug in. For the amount of money we paid for the entrées the value of the food was not up to par. Taste value of the food was good and adequate just not the price for it. The swordfish was dense which held nicely with the “encrusted” crab. When I hear the word “encrusted” I imagine the entire filet to be surrounded by it, or at least the side. It was merely a topper. It was good don’t get me wrong. The old julienned carrots as a garnish were an eyesore. The sprinkled dill on top of the mashed potatoes was adequate but the mashed potatoes needed the garlic that was advertised. The steamed vegetables were a letdown because of the cost of the entrée. String beans and carrots are in my mind cheap.

The cioppino was okay. I ate a fish piece, which I assumed was swordfish. I don’t remember the taste if that is any indication of the entrée. I poked around for some of the surrounding crab. The crab was fine. When Flo finished her meal I took some bread to taste the actual cioppino. There was no depth to it. There was no rich butter feel, or herbs. I mostly tasted salt and tomato and fishy seafood. I was told the garlic bread could have been leftover bread from the bread and butter starter.

I didn’t get much of the sauté. The two pieces I had, half a scallop and half a shrimp, were not fantastic but good. The wild rice pilaf was missing flavor. I’m assuming that eating in concert would suggest a better palate pleaser. I received a hard piece of rice but wild rice is difficult to deal with especially with the different cooking times of the pilaf. Could have used a bit of broth or something to add flavor. I’m against adding too much table salt to enhance the flavor of the meal. If there is not enough natural flavor then the meal is just not great.

We also ordered two desserts.

Rum cake                     Chocolate Velvet Cake

The rum cake was reminiscent of a yellow cake mix drenched in rum. It was a bit much. The chocolate velvet was a layer of chocolate ganache that was overly rich for the cake. In comparison the cake felt bland. The strawberry puddle could have been misconstrued as strawberry preserves watered down.

In the end, this visit to the restaurant was okay. The ambience was nice and relaxing, quite classy. The food was not up to par. I don’t think this will end up on the list.

This entry was published on August 31, 2012 at 11:13 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

