Strawberry Trifle with Raspberry Moscato Compote

For my Valentine’s Day, my work was supposed to have a potluck. Unfortunately, the work didn’t respond back to the event and when I showed up on Monday after buying the ingredients I was told it was cancelled. <Sigh> What to do? Well I wasn’t the only one in this boat, a handful of my coworkers also bought their items and wanted to do an unofficial “private” potluck which we have to hold in the lunchroom.

My sister inspired me with her Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle around Christmas time. So I thought, why not a red version. I glazed through Google and Allrecipes in search for the perfect recipe. Not that that matters because I never really truly follow it. Here’s what I came up with:

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Chocolate-and-Fruit-Trifle (Modified)

 Ingredients

  • 1 package (18-1/4 ounces) devil’s food cake mix (white cake mix)
  • 1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1 package (3.4 ounces) instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream, whipped (I used a pint of heavy whipping cream)
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice
  • 2 cups fresh strawberries, chopped  (I eyed it)
  • 2 cups fresh raspberries (frozen because the fresh were moldy at the time)
  • 2 kiwifruit, peeled and chopped

Directions

  • Prepare cake batter according to package directions; pour into a greased 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan. Bake at 350° for 20 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack. Crumble enough cake to measure 8 cups; set aside. (Save remaining cake for another use.) the entire cake 🙂
  • In a large bowl, whisk the milk, water and pudding mix for 2 minutes. Let stand for two minutes or until soft-set. Fold in the whipped cream.
  • To assemble, spread 2-1/2 cups (I eyed this too) pudding mixture in a 4-qt. glass bowl. Top with half of the crumbled cake; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon orange juice. Arrange half of the berries and kiwi over cake.
  • Repeat pudding and cake layers; sprinkle with remaining orange juice. Top with remaining pudding mixture. Spoon remaining fruit around edge of bowl. Cover and refrigerate until serving. Yield: 12-16 servings.

So basically I did “almost” everything from the recipe. I went out and bought a Trifle bowl from K-mart for $9.99. Much better than Crate and Barrel. Then I was thinking, what could I do with the raspberries? I couldn’t buy the fresh ones because they were moldy when I went to the store. Then I remembered that I had leftover Moscato. So I thought to make a “compote” with them and use it as a slight glaze.

I got home, threw in the 2 3/4 bags of frozen raspberries into the skillet and doused it with the moscato. Brought it to a boil and let it sit there while I worked on the cake. The cake was just a simple white cake mix from the box. Followed the directions, and then focused back on the raspberries. Taste testing it, the raspberries were VERY sour, so I added in enough sugar to taste better. 20 to 25 minutes later, the cake was ready so I took it out of the oven and set to cool. I then whipped the cream to get the layer portion ready. I followed the directions pretty throughly at this point.

Then I layered: Cream, crumbled cake, strawberries sliced, and the raspberries mixture. Then rinse and repeat. Here’s the result!

This entry was published on February 15, 2012 at 12:44 pm. It’s filed under Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

